Learn about Women’s World Cup Competitors through VCATs

Two female soccer players running with a ball during a match on playing field.

The 2019 Women’s World Cup is well under way, and it’s an event that may make you curious to learn more about the other countries competing. If you have a Joint Knowledge Online (JKO) account, you can take our Virtual Culture Awareness Trainers, or VCATs, to find out more about the participating nations of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Thailand, Jamaica, Nigeria, and Japan. While these courses are geared toward a military audience, the lessons in each VCAT cover the topics of building rapport and having respect for your host nation and the culture, lessons that are important for any person looking to travel, work, or study overseas. To find out how to access the VCATs via JKO, please refer to this document located in the Resources section of CultureReady.

VCAT Caribbean

The twelve countries of Curacao, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, Suriname, Guyana, Bahamas, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, St Lucia, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are all included in this VCAT, which also features lessons on Participating in Senior Leader Engagements and Countering Transnational Organized Crime.

VCAT Japan

This VCAT focuses solely on the country of Japan, and also covers missions in humanitarian assistance and leader engagements.

VCAT South America

This VCAT covers 10 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, and Chile. Along with learning regional and cultural knowledge about these and other countries, there are also mission-oriented lessons on Participating in Key Leader Engagements/Civil Affairs, Conducting Counter Illicit Trafficking Training, Providing Humanitarian Assistance/Disaster Relief, COnducting Humanitarian Civic Assistance/Medical Readiness Training Exercises, and Planning and Executing Theater Security Cooperative Missions.

VCAT Southeast Asia

The five countries of Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Vietnam are included in this VCAT. Learners can also choose missions related to civil affairs, theater security cooperation, and providing humanitarian assistance/disaster relief.

VCAT West Africa

VCAT West Africa covers fourteen countries of Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo. The course also includes mission lessons on humanitarian assistance and senior leader engagements.